Monday, December 19, 2011

I hit a illegally uninsured parked car during a blizzard. Who's at fault?

The other night around 5:30pm during a huge snow storm.(1.5 ft already on the ground and still coming down hard) I was driving around a bend when at the last second I saw a abandoned car parked literally in the street with snow camouflaging it. I had a car coming in the the other direction so I couldn't go around it.. I hit my brakes and with the road conditions being wet and Slippery I started to slide and slammed into it.. This car had no hazards on and was only parked there because the owner was waiting to get their driveway plowed and didn't want to pack the snow down with her car. During the winter time there's a parking ban so people aren't allowed to park on the side of the road. (even though the car was parked in the rd and not on the side) the police showed up and realized this car was unregistered and was also not insured. My boyfriend and I both got stepped down on backboards and takin away in ambulances The police said that the owner of the parked car was a 100% at fault. But my insurance company says I could be at fault? I don't understand how I could be at fault for hitting an illegally parked ca in the road, during a parking ban, with no hazards on, was camouflaged by the snow, and wasn't even legal to be on state roads period. Any Thoughts???

No comments:

Post a Comment